Public contributions save Stuart’s July 4th celebration

Despite steadily increasing costs and record low donations, Stuart Main Street and the Downtown Business Association of Stuart were able to present the 18th annual Star Spangled Stuart July 4th Celebration, bringing over 20,000 people to Flagler Park and the Riverwalk Stage in Downtown Stuart on Independence Day. The event is hosted by the two downtown development organizations and completely funded by private donations. A presentation at the Stuart City Commission meeting Monday, July 23, 2012 will recognize the businesses, individuals, and volunteers who helped make this year’s fireworks display possible.

Local community bank, Seacoast National Bank, was this year’s presenting sponsor. Seacoast challenged local businesses and citizens to match their contribution, and many rose to the challenge, making contributions ranging from as little as $10 to as much as $15,000. In addition, volunteers collected donations at the festival this year – raising another $5,000 to help offset the cost of the event.

“We were truly amazed by the generosity of the crowd,” said Stuart Main Street Manager, Thondra Lanese. “We have worked very hard to keep this event free to the public, and were touched by how many people willingly gave to help us keep this tradition alive.”

The annual celebration has a budget of almost $50,000 and is coordinated jointly by Stuart Main Street and the Downtown Business Association of Stuart with generous donations from all walks of the community, including: Seacoast National Bank, Scripps Treasure Coast Newspapers, Southern Eagle Distributing, Ferreira Construction, Creative Fireworks, the City of Stuart, Bono’s Bar B Q & Grill, CAPTEC Engineering, the City of Stuart Community Redevelopment Agency, Mulligan’s Beach House, Mark Brechbill, CPA, Florida Power & Light,  Stuart Web, Culpepper and Terpening, Café Margeaux, AMD Building, HJA Design, Stuart Jeweler’s, RHC Consulting, John and Marion Kreutzberg, Duces Tucem, Harbor Community Bank, David and Marilyn Jordahl, Norman and  Doreen Poole, and many anonymous donations from private individuals.