Stuart Main Street Recognized with Four Secretary of State Florida Main Street Awards

Stuart Main Street Recognized with Four Secretary of State Florida Main Street Awards

STUART, FL – October 12, 2015 – Stuart Main Street program has once again been recognized with multiple awards from Florida’s Main Street program. The Secretary of State Florida Main Street Awards are given annually to encourage and acknowledge revitalization and preservation in communities across Florida. Stuart Main Street applied for – and received – four awards:

  • Outstanding Retail Sales Promotion – Shop Local | Shop Smart for innovative and effective retail sales promotion. Shop Local | Shop Smart was recognized for promoting local reinvestment and keeping tax dollars in the community and maximizing its reach through a partnership between the City of Stuart, Stuart CRA, Downtown Business Association of Stuart and Stuart Main Street
  • Outstanding Business of the Year – Bill Moore and Stuart Coffee Company for their exceptional contribution to downtown revitalization. Stuart Coffee Company was particularly recognized for Moore’s commitment to infusing community and customer values into the business, noting that the shop has a “community-oriented vibe that keeps customers choosing this independent shop over bigger chains for their daily dose of local news (or gossip!) with their morning coffee.”
  • Outstanding Membership/Fundraising Development Effort – Mornings on Main Street for exceptional creativity in securing funds or building its membership. Mornings on Main Street was particularly recognized for focusing on a variety of host locations to increase awareness of historic structures, new and under-recognized businesses, cultural attractions, and vacant properties as well as consistently attracting attendees from new audiences.
  • Outstanding Statewide Program Supporter – Ann MacMillan for her significant contribution to the statewide Florida Main Street program. MacMillan, who has been involved with Main Street since Stuart became a Main Street community in 1988, was acknowledged for, “not shutting up about Main Street since!” as well as her tireless efforts for downtown revitalization in Stuart and statewide.

Stuart Main Street received the awards from Deputy Secretary of State Kerri Post and Coordinator of the Florida Main Street program, Ronni Wood, at the Vinoy Renaissance Golf Club at the 2015 Secretary of State’s Florida Main Street Awards Dinner in St. Petersburg this fall. Recipients were presented their awards at the Stuart Board of Commissioners meeting Monday, September 28, 2015.

Stuart Main Street is a 501(c)3 historic preservation-based program dedicated to building a vital downtown through community self-reliance and a focus on traditional assets: personal service, local ownership, unique architecture, and sense of community. Formed in 1987, the group follows the Main Street Four-Point Approach® as established by the National Trust for Historic Preservation’s National Main Street Center and practiced in over 1600 communities across the country. Recent projects include the Downtown Outdoor Dining Platforms, expansion of the Riverwalk to Colorado Avenue, the Shop Local | Shop Smart program, and the Rock’n Riverwalk free weekly concerts. Stuart Main Street meets the second Tuesday of every month at 4:30 p.m. in the City Hall Chambers at 121 SW Flagler Avenue, Stuart. For more information, call 772-286-2848 or visit



Local community advocate, Ann MacMillan, accepts her recognition as Outstanding Statewide Program Supporter at the Florida Main Street Awards Dinner in St. Petersburg.


Stuart City Commissioner, Troy McDonald, and CRA Administrator, Teresa Lamar-Sarno, accept the award for Outstanding Retail Sales Promotion at the Florida Main Street Awards Dinner in St. Petersburg.


Representatives from Stuart Main Street accepted four community revitalization awards at the Florida Main Street Awards Dinner in St. Petersburg. (L-R Stuart Main Street Executive Director, Thondra Lanese, Stuart CRA Administrator, Teresa Lamar-Sarno, City of Stuart Commissioner, Troy McDonald, Annie MacMillan, Ed Preast, Julie Preast, and former City of Stuart Mayor, Joan Jefferson).